Ashtanga Yoga For You Web Homeclasses


Beginners General Development






Characteristics of Ashtanga Yoga

There are six series of postures in Ashtanga Yoga.  Yoga Chikitsa (yoga therapy) which we know as the Primary Series or first series, comprises the postures practiced in all Beginners and General classes;  Nadi Sodhana (channel cleansing) known as the Intermediate series or second series; and Sthira Bhaga (divine stability) is known as the Advanced Series which can be broken down into four parts from series three to six.



Ashtanga Introduction

Students will be introduced to the postures of the 'Primary Series', shown proper alignment and will learn to synchronize their breathing with the postures.

Ashtanga Level I

Students familiar with the basic postures will begin to experience the flow of Ashtanga practice by connecting the series of postures together.

Ashtanga Level I/II

Students who feel comfortable in Level I and wish to move to the next level will find this class more challenging in exploring more difficult postures of Ashtanga.



Ashtanga General classes are suitable for 'beginners' with a basic level of fitness and those with some Ashtanga yoga experience.  About two-thirds of the 'Primary Series' is worked through, with modifications as appropriate.



Development classes may be arranged from time to time and may include the participation of instructors with particular skills or emphases in different yoga techniques.  Development classes are for experienced students of Ashtanga and are by invitation only.


Weekly Schedule

The following outlines the currently planned weekly schedule of Ashtanga Yoga For You Classes - please note that this schedule will change from term to term in response to demand:







Lvl I/II 4:30-6:00 PM

Gen 9:30-11:00

Intro 9:15-10:15

Lvl I/IIL 9:15-10:15

Gen 09:30-11:00

Light 11:15-12:15

Gen 10:30-12:00

Intro 10:30-11:30

Lvl I/IIL 11:45-12:45


Gen 19:00-20:30





Ashtanga Introduction Classes for beginners (The Bridge Centre, Haddington):

   not scheduled at this time.

Ashtanga General Classes (Longniddry Church Hall):

    commence on Monday 13th January with Morning Class  from 09:30 - 11:00 AM and Evening Class from  07:00 - 08:30 PM.  There are breaks scheduled for this Term on 10th February (both morning and evening) and 17th February (break on morning only). Last class scheduled for this Term is Monday Evening 30th March.

Yoga Light Classes (Longniddry Church Hall):

   not scheduled at this time.

Ashtanga Level I/II Classes (Longniddry Church Hall):

    not scheduled at this time.

Ashtanga Level I/II (Light) Classes (The Bridge Centre, Haddington):

    not scheduled at this time.


Please book early as numbers are limited.  Each Ashtanga class is usually a ten week course unless school and/or public holidays dictate otherwise.  Each Yoga Light class is usually scheduled as a five week course.





Click here for Table of Contents


BackUp Next 

   Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Copyright © 2006 Ayoga4u - ashtanga yoga for you 
Last modified: May 31, 2020